About the Premier Print Awards

Begun in 1950 as the Graphics Arts Awards Competition, the Premier Print Awards attracts entries from companies in North America, South America, Asia, Europe and the Pacific Rim. Thousands of entries are scrutinized by a panel of judges, who select the winners of:

- Certificate of Merit
Many of the entries in the Premier Print Awards deserve recognition for the quality of their work. To honor those who have achieved an extremely high level of quality in printing and design, the judges bestow a Certificate of Merit.
Certificate of Merit winners receive a personalized certificate, which may be upgraded to a plaque or framed for display in your company's offices and customer lounges.

- Award of Recognition
Finalists for the top category receive an Award of Recognition. Recipients are awarded a personalized plaque.

- Best of Category (The Benny)
The Benny is awarded to the most outstanding entry in each category. To win, an entry must be flawless. Given this high standard, the judges do not always award a Benny in every category. Should judges find more than one entry worthy of the criteria, more than one Benny may be awarded. Winners receive the "Benny," a bronze statuette of Benjamin Franklin. Printing Industries of America announces winners to the trade press. The winning entries are displayed on Printing Industries of America's website, www.printing.org. Winners are also featured in the Premier Print Awards supplement, which is mailed to 10,000 print buyers. Winners will be presented their Benny statuette at the Gala awards banquet, held in Chicago in conjunction with PRINT 18.

For over 50 years, printers have found that winning a Premier Print Award can be a powerful tool in helping to grow their business. Receiving an award in the largest, most prestigious print competition in the world tells your customers and prospects that your company produces some of the finest print in the world today. The promotional possibilities are endless!

Call for Entries
Printed pieces produced from May 1, 2017 through April 30, 2018 are eligible entries in the 2018 Premier Print Awards competition.

The Premier Print Awards has categories that cover work done by printers, trade binderies, other finishing craftsmen, and prepress specialists--everyone involved in the production of an outstanding printed piece. To learn more about the categories, click here.

Judging, Notification, and Recognition
Judging is generally held in the early summer with winners notified in mid-to-late July. Each year, winners of the Benny receive their awards at the Premier Print Gala--an unforgettable evening in elegant surroundings. The event features a Gallery of the winning entries during the reception, then a sumptuous dinner and presentation of the awards.

For questions regarding the Premier Print Awards, judging process, or Gala, contact Mike Packard at 800-910-4283 ext. 704 or mpackard [at] printing.org


Premier Partners

Principal Partners


Supporting Partners