Robert F. Reed Technology Medal

Recognizing an outstanding engineer, scientist, inventor, or researcher in the graphic communications industry.


Established in 1974, the Reed Technology Medal perpetuates the memory of Robert F. Reed (1905–1973), “Dean of Lithography,” whose contributions to the understanding of lithographic processes and materials were perhaps the most significant and important made by any man of his time. Past recipients of the Reed Medal include Richard McKrell, John Crosfield, John MacPhee, Robert Bassemir, Harold Gegenheimer, and Michael Bruno.

Nominations are judged by a small committee of past Reed Medal recipients and representatives of Printing Industries of America’s Ben Franklin Honor Society. The recipient is presented with an engraved and die-struck bronze medal at the Annual Technical Association of the Graphic Arts (TAGA) Annual Technical Conference on March 20-22, in Houston, TX.

Eligibility Requirements

  1. A candidate must be a technically or scientifically oriented person who has worked as an engineer or a scientist in the graphic communications industry for a period of ten years or more.
  2. A candidate must have an outstanding record of technical and scientific accomplishments that measurably aided the scientific development of the graphic communications industry.
  3. It is preferred that such activities be extended over a period of time and not be confined to one project or development.
  4. Previous winners are not eligible for a second award. Candidates do not have to be Printing Industries of America members

Yes, I want to recognize an innovator!
Nomination Procedures

All nomination material must be received by October 31, 2016.

For more information, contact Kayleigh Smith at 412-259-1713 or ksmith (at)

Published on Wednesday, October 8, 2014 (updated 10/13/2016)

Contact Author

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.
view counter
view counter
view counter